Centenary of Establishment
2017 marks 100 years since the Old Virgilians Association (OVA) was inaugurated.
The Centenary History Centre contains a permanent record of the rich heritage of the College. Designed by Darryl Rodgers, it traces the history of St Virgil’s since its establishment at Barrack Street in 1911 and the later development of the Austins Ferry Campus. Displays contain a large collection of memorabilia, objects and photographs.
Specific displays include:
- The Christian Brothers, Principals and Teachers
- Old Virgilian Community Leaders and Scholars
- Life as a Boarder
- A timeline of events significant to the College
- Extra Curricula Activities
- Sporting Life
- Spiritual Life
The History Centre is a valuable educational resource for present and past students and friends of the College. The St Virgil’s College Heritage Roll of Honour display is also located at Austins Ferry.
Visits to the Centre may be arranged by contacting the College or the Development Director on 03 6249 6555.